Musée Nissim de Camondo was created in 1935 when Count Moïse de Camondo bequeathed his Parisian mansion to the Museum of Decorative Arts. Dedicated to his son Nissim de Camondo, this beautiful building, designed in the style of the Petit Trianon at Versailles, houses the Count’s major collection of 18th century decorative art. The mansion, designed by René Sergent and built from 1911-1914, remains in its original condition, offering visitors a unique insight into a private Parisian residence overlooking the Monceau Park.
On display are some of the finest pieces of furniture and objects from the reigns of Louis XV and Louis XVI. From furniture by cabinetmakers Riesener and Oeben, Sèvres porcelain and Aubusson tapestries, to canvases by Elisabeth Vigéé-Lebrun, work by artisans of the Garde Meuble Royal and silver service by Jacques-Nicolas Roettiers gifted by Catherine the Great to her lover Prince Orlov, the museum showcases a wonderful selection of decorative pieces.