The François Duesberg Museum (Musée François Duesberg des Arts Decoratifs), is named after its founder the Baron François Duesberg, an avid collector of antique clocks. The museum opened in the former building of the National bank in 1994, opposite the St Waudru’s Collegiate Church in Mons. The exhibition is dedicated to the decorative arts (1775-1825) and is centred on life within French high society in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. It features a unique collection of over 300 old clocks, which forms the heart of the permanent exhibition.
The collection also composes of majestic French gilt bronzes, porcelain pieces from Paris and Brussels, gold and silverware, exquisite jewels, and many fascinating objects. The antique pieces are displayed in cases designed by François and Betty Duesberg in the style of a cabinet of wonders. The museum pays tribute to the art of time and the art of the table, highlighting the Age of Enlightenment and celebrating the social history and customs, inventions, art, and interior design of that epoch.